Community Information

General Lookup

Bowling Green/Warren County

Bowling Green is a city in and the county seat of Warren County, Kentucky.  As of 2013, its population of 61,488 made it the third-most-populous city in the state after Louisville and Lexington; its metropolitan area had an estimated population of 118,664.

Founded by pioneers in 1798, Bowling Green was the provisional capital of Confederate Kentucky during the American Civil War. The city was the inspiration for the 1967 Everly Brothers song "Bowling Green"; and today it is the home of numerous manufacturers including General Motors and Fruit of the Loom. The Bowling Green Assembly Plant has been the source of all Chevrolet Corvettes built since 1981. Bowling Green is also home to the state's second-largest public university, Western Kentucky University. In 2014, Forbes Magazine listed Bowling Green as one of the Top 25 Best Places to Retire in the United States.

Bowling Green City Website
Warren County Website
Bowling Green Area Chamber of Commerce
Bowling Green City Schools Website
Warren County Schools Website

Bowling Green/Warren County FOCUS 2030 Comprehensive Plan

Allen County

Allen County is a county located in the U.S. state of Kentucky. As of the 2010 census, the population was 19,956. Its county seat is Scottsville. The county is named for Colonel John Allen, a state senator and soldier who was killed leading the 1st Regiment of Kentucky Rifleman at the Battle of Frenchtown, Michigan during the War of 1812. Allen County is a prohibition or completely dry county. It was formed in 1815 from parts of Barren and Warren counties.

Scottsville City Information
Scottsville-Allen County Chamber of Commerce
Allen County Schools

Butler County

Butler County is was formed on January 18, 1810 from portions of Logan and Ohio counties.  It was named for Gen. Richard Butler, a Revolutionary War soldier.  It lies in the Western Coal Field region of Kentucky and has 444 square miles of land.  The county seat is Morgantown, and the total population as of 2014 is 12,875.  A Civil War monument erected in the courthouse yard and dedicated in May, 1907 is believed to be one of only two existing memorials which honors both Confederate and Union soldiers.  Butler County is most recently noted for its annual Green River Catfish Festival.  Each year anglers from far and wide attempt to snag a tagged catfish for cash prizes.

Butler County Website    
Morgantown City Website    
Butler County Schools    

Edmonson County

Edmonson County is located on the Green River near the western edge of Mammoth Cave National Park.  It was formed in 1826 and as of 2014 has a population of 12,013.  The county is named for Captain John Edmonson, a veteran of the American Revolutionary War who was killed at the Battle of Frenchtown during the War of 1812.  The sale of alcohol is prohibited in Edmsonson County.  The county seat is Brownsville, population 830 as of 2013.

Brownsville City Data
Edmonson County Schools    
Edmonson County Chamber of Commerce

Logan County

Logan County is named for Benjamin Logan, second in command of the Kentucky militia during the Revolutionary War and was a leader in the efforts to make Kentucky a state. Logan County is the 13th Kentucky County, and is currently the third largest county in the state. The county is made up of the following cities: Adairville, Auburn, Lewisburg and Russellville and has a population of nearly 27,000.

The county is situated in the southwestern part of the state and is approximately 556 square miles in size and located near the Tennessee line. It is connected with four-lane access to the interstates 65, 24, 40 and is a short trip to the Nashville airport.

Logan County Website    
Logan County Tourism Commission    
Logan County Chamber of Commerce    
Logan County Schools     
Russellville Independent Schools    

Muhlenberg County

 Formed in 1798 from the neighboring counties of Logan and Christian, Muhlenberg County was named after General John Peter Gabriel Muhlenberg, a clergyman, soldier, and politician of the Colonial, Revolutionary, and Post-Revolutionary eras.  The County seat is Greenville, location of one of the most beautiful courthouses in Kentucky.  The two primary geographic features are the Green River and Lake Malone.  As of 2014 the population was 31,207.

Muhlenberg County Website    
Greater Muhlenberg Chamber of Commerce
Muhlenberg County Schools    

Simpson County

 Formed in 1819 from the neighboring counties of Allen, Logan and Warren Counties, Simpson County was named after Capt. John Simpson, a Kentucky militia officer who fought in the Battle of Fallen Timbers in the Northwest Indian War and was killed during the Battle of 1812 in the Battle of River Raisin.  The county seat is Franklin, which was named for Benjamin Franklin.  The population of Simpson County as of 2014 is 17,826.

Simpson County Website    
Franklin Simpson Chamber of Commerce     
Simpson County Schools    





Back to top